Breakfast… do it right!

Posted: May 30, 2013 in Healthy Eating
Tags: , , , ,

I know this might not be the most exciting topic ever, but it is really an important one. Breakfast is the meal that probably gets the least respect. Dinner is the almighty king in our society, and lunch is built into the workday. In today’s hustle and bustle lifestyle, breakfast sometimes is left completely out of our diets, or is an act of convenience.  People think nothing of grabbing a sandwich at one establishment that claims to be healthy, of bacon, fake eggs or egg whites, and cheese. What a mess!

The term breakfast is meant to be broken down into its syllables “break” and “fast”. We are breaking the fast that occurred overnight during sleep. This is your first chance to fuel your body with the right balance of nutrients and ingredients. Your body is like a car. If you put diluted gas into it, you won’t get the best performance. I make sure that I get up each morning and drink a large glass of room temperature water, and then commence the breakfast process. Among my favorites are steel cut oats with blueberries and coconut oil, flax and chia seeds, four egg whites with spinach, beans, mushrooms, peppers and tomatoes, and something known as the “Rip Bowl” from the “Engine 2” eating plan. If I’m in a huge rush I’ll make a smoothie out of whatever fruits and veggies I have hanging around. I make sure to add hemp oil to these though. I have tons more, but these are some examples.

If you haven’t been alive and alert for the last ten years, you’ll have missed the plethora of energy drinks flooding the market. There is such an extremely high demand for these unhealthy items that many of them succeed rather easily. Could our inattention to breakfast be partially responsible for this rise? Are we getting tired halfway through the day because what we have eaten really had no value at all? It’s something to think about. I’ll break down energy drinks another day, for now you need to worry about the right way to break the fast. Happy eating!

Comments
  1. cviggh says:

    Very good post! I especially love that you mentioned eating vegetables for breakfast. I have never understood why breakfast always has to be filled with unhealthy fat, sugar and sodium. It is at least good that fruit has a place at the breakfast table. But why not vegetables? I know I would much rather eat a salad for breakfast than a bowl of sugary cereal. And I completely agree that this is a major reason people have such low energy during the day. People need to start taking breakfast more seriously!

    • 1footinfit says:

      People will even skip it and go through all of the discomfort of being hungry in a failed effort to lose weight. It only slows the metabolism more to do so. It goes back to what you said about doing what you love and putting fitness first. Feel good first, look in the mirror later!

Leave a comment